Skip to main content
Σημαία της Ευρωπαϊκής Ένωσης Σημαία της Ευρωπαϊκής Ένωσης
New European Bauhaus

New European Bauhaus Prizes 2023

Why are the prizes important?

The prizes recognise and exemplify beautiful, sustainable, and inclusive projects and support the younger generation to develop emerging concepts and ideas further. Following the success of the 2021 and 2022 editions that received more than 3 000 applications from all the EU Member States, the prizes are back to celebrate inspiring examples of the transformations we want to bring about in our daily lives, living spaces and experiences. 

What are the prizes about?

The four prize categories reflect the New European Bauhaus transformation themes:

  1. Reconnecting with nature
  2. Regaining a sense of belonging
  3. Prioritising the places and people that need it the most
  4. Shaping a circular industrial ecosystem and supporting life-cycle thinking

In each category, there are three parallel competition strands:

  1. New European Bauhaus Champions for existing and completed projects
    The winners receive EUR 30 000 and a communication package.
  2. New European Bauhaus Rising Stars for concepts by young talents aged 30 or less 
    The winners receive EUR 15 000 and a communication package.
  3. New European Bauhaus Education Champions for education and learning initiatives
     The winners receive EUR 30 000 and a communication package.

Who can apply and by when?

The applications are closed, you can now vote for your favourite finalist!

The prizes are open to applications from the EU Members States. For the first time this year, they are also open to the Western Balkans.

The submission deadline is on 3 February at 19:00 CET. Applications may be modified as long as they are in draft mode.

How to apply?

Visit the dedicated platform to register and submit your application. On the prizes platform, you will find more information on the categories, a detailed guide for applicants in all EU and Western Balkan languages, and the official contact point for questions related to the prizes.

Call for external experts

Until 31 January 2023, experts in the New European Bauhaus fields can submit their expression of interest to evaluate applications for the 2023 edition of the prizes.

Spread the word!

Visuals and messages for social media can be found here.