Mur għall-kontenut ewlieni
New European Bauhaus

New European Bauhaus Prizes 2022

Commissioners Gabriel and Ferreira announced the winners in a vibrant ceremony on 11 June during the New European Bauhaus Festival. Beautiful, sustainable, and inclusive projects from 15 different Member States won prizes this year. You can watch the ceremony and discover the 18 winners as well as all the finalists' projects on the prizes platform.

2022 New European Bauhaus prize winners
European Union, 2022

Why are the prizes important?

Following the success of the first prizes last year, the 2022 edition will celebrate new inspiring examples of the transformations we want to bring about in our daily lives, living spaces and experiences. 

The prizes exemplify the New European Bauhaus values: sustainability, inclusion and aesthetics.

What are the prizes about?

The prizes recognize and celebrate existing beautiful, sustainable, and inclusive achievements and support the younger generation to further develop emerging concepts and ideas. 

There are prizes in 4 different categories that reflect the thematic axes of transformation identified during the New European Bauhaus’ co-design phase and are inspired by the views and experiences of thousands of EU citizens and organisations:

  • Reconnecting with nature
  • Regaining a sense of belonging
  • Prioritising the places and people that need it the most
  • Shaping a circular industrial ecosystem and supporting life-cycle thinking

In each of the categories there are two parallel competition strands:

  • New European Bauhaus Awards for existing completed projects
    • The winners receive EUR 30 000 and a communication package
    • The runners up receive EUR 20 000 and a communication package
  • New European Bauhaus Rising Stars for ideas by young talents aged 30 or less
    • The winners receive EUR 15 000 and a communication package
    • The runners up receive EUR 10 000 and a communication package

Who can apply and by when?

Both EU and non-EU nationals can apply, as long as their concept, idea or project is actually developed and/or physically located in the EU. Joint/partner and consortia type applications are possible too, with the same criteria as for EU-based projects.

Young people, under the age of 30 on 7 March 2022 can apply for both competition Strands – the New European Bauhaus Awards and the New European Bauhaus Rising Stars. Project promoters who are over 30 years of age can apply for the New European Bauhaus Awards with projects finalised within the past two years (older projects are not eligible).

Applications may be modified as long as they are in draft mode.

The submission deadline expired on 7 March 2022 at 19:00 CET.

How to apply?

To apply, visit the dedicated platform where you will find more information on the different categories of the prizes, the detailed guide for applicants in all EU languages, and the official contact point for the prizes.

Call for external experts

Until 31 March 2022, experts in one of the New European Bauhaus fields, could submit their expression of interest to evaluate applications for the 2022 edition of the Prizes.

Spread the word!

Visuals and messages for social media can be found here.